1. Home
  2. top of the aat hierarchies
  3. Physical Attributes Facet
  4. Design Elements (hierarchy name)
  5. design elements (attributes)
  6. motifs
  7. [figure- and animal-derived motifs]
  8. makara
  9. makara-praṇāla
Scope note
In Indian architecture, a makara-shaped gargoyle; makara-shaped water chute or conduit for discharging deity’s lustral water; elsewhere in halls, at eave-cornice, etc.; torana-arch spewed from the mouths of makaras, or formed from their tails.
Accepted term: 15-Jul-2024