1. Home
  2. top of the aat hierarchies
  3. Styles and Periods Facet
  4. Styles and Periods (hierarchy name)
  5. [styles, periods, and cultures by general era]
  6. geologic time scale
  7. Phanerozoic
  8. Cenozoic
  9. Quaternary
Scope note
The Quaternary is the second major division of geologic time in the Cenozoic era, following the Tertiary period. It extends from about 1.8 million years ago to the present. It is divided into Pleistocene and Holocene epochs.
Accepted term: 27-May-2024