1. Home
  2. top of the aat hierarchies
  3. Styles and Periods Facet
  4. Styles and Periods (hierarchy name)
  5. [styles, periods, and cultures by region]
  6. Americas, The
  7. Pre-Columbian (American)
  8. [Pre-Columbian Middle American styles and periods]
  9. Mesoamerican
Scope note
Designates the styles of the Pre-Columbian region comprising present-day central and central-southern Mexico, the Yucatán Peninsula, Guatemala, Belize and El Salvador, and parts of Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica. Culturally, it refers to a set of technological, social, economic, religious and political traits shared by several different cultures, including the Aztec, Huastec, Maya, Mixtec, Olmec, Tarascan, Teotihuacßsn, Toltec, Totonac, West Mexican and Zapotec.
Accepted term: 17-Jun-2024