1. Home
  2. top of the aat hierarchies
  3. Associated Concepts Facet
  4. Associated Concepts (hierarchy name)
  5. [religions and religious concepts]
  6. religions (belief systems, cultures)
  7. Abrahamic religions
  8. Christianity
  9. Protestantism
  10. Unitarianism
Scope note
The liberal Protestant movement that arose in Europe during the 16th century Reformation, was embodied in a church in Transylvania, and achieved denominational status in the 19th century in the United Kingdom, the United States, and Canada. It is characterized by a denial of the orthodox Christian doctrines of the Trinity and the divinity of Jesus, the free use of reason in religion, and the belief that God exists in one person. In 1961, in the United States and Canada, it merged with the Universalist denomination to form "Unitarian Universalism." Use also generally for the theological doctrines of the unified nature of God and the humanity of Jesus, first expressed in second- and third-century monarchism and in the teachings of Arius in the third and fourth centuries, and later in the radical Neoplatonist thinkers of the Reformation such as Michael Servetus, Faustus Socinus, and Ferenc David.
Accepted term: 20-May-2024