1. Home
  2. top of the aat hierarchies
  3. Styles and Periods Facet
  4. Styles and Periods (hierarchy name)
  5. [styles, periods, and cultures by region]
  6. Asian
  7. East Asian
  8. Chinese (culture or style)
  9. Chinese prehistoric cultures and periods
  10. Chinese Neolithic periods
  11. Dawenkou
Scope note
Refers to a Chinese Neolithic period and culture partly synonymous with Qinglian'gang. It takes its name from a site in Taian in Shandong province. Dawenkou flourished between ca. 4300 and ca. 2400 BCE and was geographically located across Shandong, western Henan, northern Anhui, and Jiangsu provinces. In its central area of Shandong, Dawenkou developed out of the Beixin culture and was succeeded by the Longshan culture. Some of the characteristics of later Longshan pottery are seen in Dawenkou ceramics: elaborate ritual vessels, polished blackwares and whitewares, and the use of the potter's wheel. Painted decoration gave way in the Late Dawenkou period (ca. 2900-ca. 2400 BCE) to surface treatments such as cord and basket impressions. Other characteristic artifacts of the period include ivory combs and carved ivory tubes. Dawenkou cemeteries contain the graves of wealthy individuals; some graves contain more than 100 valuable objects such as jade beads and axes.
Accepted term: 15-Jul-2024