Xenarthra (subclass)

  1. Home
  2. top of the aat hierarchies
  3. Agents Facet
  4. Living Organisms (hierarchy name)
  5. living organisms (entities)
  6. Eukaryota (domain)
  7. Animalia (kingdom)
  8. Chordata (phylum)
  9. Vertebrata (subphylum)
  10. Mammalia (class)
  11. Xenarthra
Scope note
Refers to an subclass (or "superorder" or "magnorder") containing the orders Cingulata and Pilosa, currently including 29 species among five living families. It includes the living anteaters, tree sloths, and armadillos, as well as the extinct ground sloths, glyptodonts and pampatheres. Xenarthrans were formerly grouped with pangolins and collectively referred to as edentates (a former order, Edentata), which alludes to the absence of teeth in some members.
Accepted term: 15-Jul-2024