Perissodactyla (order)

  1. Home
  2. top of the aat hierarchies
  3. Agents Facet
  4. Living Organisms (hierarchy name)
  5. living organisms (entities)
  6. Eukaryota (domain)
  7. Animalia (kingdom)
  8. Chordata (phylum)
  9. Vertebrata (subphylum)
  10. Mammalia (class)
  11. Perissodactyla
Scope note
Order containing around 15 species of mammals in three families, including horses, asses, zebras, rhinoceroses, tapirs, and kin, characterized as browsing and grazing animals, with an odd number of toes on each hoof, usually large in size, having relatively simple stomachs and being hindgut fermenters, digesting plant cellulose in their intestines rather than a stomach.
Accepted term: 10-Jun-2024