Canidae (family)

  1. Home
  2. top of the aat hierarchies
  3. Agents Facet
  4. Living Organisms (hierarchy name)
  5. living organisms (entities)
  6. Eukaryota (domain)
  7. Animalia (kingdom)
  8. Chordata (phylum)
  9. Vertebrata (subphylum)
  10. Mammalia (class)
  11. Carnivora (order)
  12. Canidae
Scope note
Family containing 35 living species of mammals in 13 genera, representing foxes, wolves, jackals, and other members of the dog family. They tend to be slender, long-legged animals with long muzzles, bushy tails, and erect, pointed ears, social, intelligent, and easily trained. They were probably the first animals to be domesticated.
Accepted term: 10-Jun-2024