Acacia (genus)

  1. Home
  2. top of the aat hierarchies
  3. Agents Facet
  4. Living Organisms (hierarchy name)
  5. living organisms (entities)
  6. Eukaryota (domain)
  7. Plantae (kingdom)
  8. Angiospermae (division)
  9. Magnoliopsida (class)
  10. Rosanae (superorder)
  11. Fabales (order)
  12. Fabaceae (family)
  13. Acacia
Scope note
Genus of evergreen trees and shrubs found primarily in Australia. Several commercial products are produced by these trees. Until 2005, around 1300 species found in Australia, Europe, Africa, southern Asia, and the Americas were classified in this genus. The genus has since been divided into 5 genera, with the name Acacia retained for the Australian species and a small number in tropical Asia, Madagascar, and the Pacific Islands. Most species outside Australia now belong to Vachellia and Senegalia, with small numbers of species placed in genera Acaciella and Mariosousa.
Accepted term: 10-Jun-2024