Capreolinae (subfamily)

  1. Home
  2. top of the aat hierarchies
  3. Agents Facet
  4. Living Organisms (hierarchy name)
  5. living organisms (entities)
  6. Eukaryota (domain)
  7. Animalia (kingdom)
  8. Chordata (phylum)
  9. Vertebrata (subphylum)
  10. Mammalia (class)
  11. Artiodactyla (order)
  12. Cervidae (family)
  13. Capreolinae
Scope note
The names for subfamilies Old World deer (subfamily Cervinae) and the New World deer (subfamily Capreolinae) reflect where the deer originally evolved; however, now it is not a geographical distinction but instead derives from their different foot structures. In the Old World deer the second and fifth hand bones (metapodia) have almost completely disappeared except for proximal, terminal remnants. In the New World deer the remnants are distal.
Accepted term: 17-Jun-2024