Styles and Periods (hierarchy name)

  1. Home
  2. top of the aat hierarchies
  3. Styles and Periods Facet
  4. Styles and Periods
Scope note
The Styles and Periods hierarchy contains the names of art and architecture styles, historical periods, art movements, nationalities, ethnicities, and cultures (e.g., "Renaissance," "Ming," "Yoruba," "Celtic," "Louis XIV," "Italian," "Paleolithic"). Relation to other hierarchies: Terms for religions, which may be considered to describe culture, are found in Associated Concepts. Terms for genres of art, including all the arts not specific to a given people or period (e.g., "amateur art," "pattern poetry") are found in the Associated Concepts hierarchy; also here are terms for general approaches to art (e.g., "realism") while specific movements named after such approaches are found here (e.g., "Realist").
Styles and Periods
Accepted term: 10-Jun-2024